Here are two quick myths common to baseball, and the facts behind them.
The tie goes to the runner.
Actually, the opposite is true, according to major league umpire Tim McClelland. “There is no rule that says the tie goes to the runner. But the rule book does say that the runner must beat the ball to first base, and so if he doesn’t beat the ball, then he is out.”
A player must touch the ball to be charged with an error.
It’s false, although you wouldn’t know it by listening to most baseball analysts during game broadcasts. For some reason, this myth begins in Little League and sticks with players all the way up to the bigs. However, it says clearly near the beginning of rule 10.13: “It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error.”